newsdog Facebook

Harivansh Narayan Singh Become Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairperson, Congress Tasted Defeat Again

Naukri Nama 2018-08-10 11:03:43

On the 17th sitting of the monsoon session of parliament, both the Houses saw a complete defeat of Congress-led government on Thursday. It was a fight between NDA’s candidate Harivansh Narayan Singh and Congress’s candidates BK Hariprasad for the position of Deputy Chairperson of Rajya Sabha. With the maximum number of voting in the Houses, NDA’s Harivansh Narayan Singh won the election and successfully conquered the position.

Within 20 days, Opposition headed by the Congress tasted humiliating defeat for the second time. First time it was defeated by PM Modi’s led government in the Lok Sabha during the no-confidence motion filed by Telugu Desam Party (TDP), Congress and some other parties on the opposition benches on 20th July. And now for the second time in Rajya Sabha yesterday.

However, Shiv Sena withdrew their voting during the election, but it saw a great support of other parties in the debate. Victory of NDA was a foregone conclusion as the BJP alone has a support of 274 MPs in the House to defeat the Congress-led opposition.

This defeat of B.K Hariprasad was no less than humiliating that in the Lok Sabha during no-confidence motion. Harivansh got 125 votes in his favour, while Hariprasad got only 105 votes and so NDA convincingly defeated the Congress candidates.

This consecutive defeat of Congress in this ongoing parliamentary session could be the result of coming elections of 2019. It’s no wonder that BJP had the support of majority of members in the house and so it won this election with the number which BJP was expecting.