newsdog Facebook

Australia make 2 changes and opt to bat; Rahul, Chahal out for India

WAH Criket 2019-03-13 12:56:00

Finally comes the series decider where Virat Kohli and Co are set to lock horns with the Aussies to seal the series at Feroz Shah Kotla on Wednesday. It's the captains home ground where he will surely try not to disappoint the local crowd and maintain the victory spree on home soil. With the series level at 2-2, it's going to be yet another nail-biting affair to end the last ODI series for men-in-blue ahead of the ICC Cricket World Cup.

Coming to the toss, Australian skipper Aaron Finch has won it and decided to bat first. The guests have made two changes in the side - Shaun Marsh misses out for Marcus Stoinis and Lyon comes in for Behrendorff.

"Looks like a dry wicket. Hopefully, we can get a big score and defend it later. The wicket and the squares have been re-laid over the last few years, so we can't look into the numbers much. Not a lot of international cricket here over the last 10 years. It's important to keep the momentum, whenever you get the opportunities with the bat, take it, and take the team across the line," Finch said at the toss.

Indian captain Virat Kohli stated that he would have batted first too but hopes that the track doesn't break down too much. The men-in-blue have also made a couple changes in the playing XI. Chahal misses out and Jadeja comes in as an all-rounder. KL Rahul misses out to make way for Shami.

"This is more like a knock-out game. Everyone was pumped up during the warm-ups as well. We have to first restrict them with the ball, and we are one of the best chasing sides in the world and we have to show that today. Last few games didn't go our way, but Australia played better cricket. In terms of team composition, we know which way we are going for the World Cup. We are not invincible, and there will be sides that can beat us if they play better cricket on the day," said Kohli.

Here're the playing XIs:

India: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli(c), Rishabh Pant(w), Kedar Jadhav, Vijay Shankar, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah

Australia: Aaron Finch(c), Usman Khawaja, Peter Handscomb, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Ashton Turner, Alex Carey(w), Jhye Richardson, Pat Cummins, Adam Zampa, Nathan Lyon