newsdog Facebook

9th NASS: Forces that pulled victory for Lawan, Gbajabiamila - Latest News - Tribune Online

News Summed Up 2019-06-12 05:30:00

Their counterparts in the Green Chamber, Honourables Femi Gbajabiamila and Idris Wase, also won the exalted offices of Speaker of the House of Representatives and deputy speaker respectively. At the Senate, Lawan polled 79 votes to defeat his rival, Ali Ndume, who scored 28 votes, making a total of 107 senators that voted at the inaugural session. Ekweremadu: The big backstabbingChecks revealed that 107 senators participated in the electoral process that produced Senator Lawan, while 105 exercised their franchise in the election that produced Senator Omo-Agege as deputy Senate president. With the victory, Lawan earned the spot as the 14th president of the Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. The election of the deputy senate president was short of two more senators-elect.