newsdog Facebook

Delhi Poll Drubbing for Four Ex-Mayors, Other Municipal Leaders Fielded by BJP

NYOOOZ 2020-02-12 05:30:00

New Delhi: All four former mayors fielded by the BJP in the just-concluded Delhi polls received a drubbing at the hands of the AAP as the municipal leaders were reduced to second positions in the constituencies they were fighting the elections from.
In Mundka, Singh, a former North Delhi mayor, polled 71,135 votes losing to AAP's Dharampal Lakra who amassed 90,293.
All the three municipal corporations -- North, South and East corporations -- in Delhi are controlled by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).
The BJP, which swept the 2017 civic polls in Delhi, had betted big on its municipal leaders to shore up the party's fortune for the February 8 polls.
The former deputy mayors who contested the elections are — Vijay Bhagat (North Delhi) Badli, Kailash Sankla (South Delhi) from Madipur, Kiran Vaid (East Delhi) from Trilokpuri and Rekha Gupta (North Delhi) Shalimar Bagh.