newsdog Facebook

These players, including Rohit Sharma, Vinesh Fougat will be the fourth cricketer to receive the Khel Ratna.

The India Print 2020-08-18 21:49:06

Sports Desk: Indian cricket team's opener batsman Rohit Sharma has been selected for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna by the award selection committee. He will be the fourth Indian cricketer to receive this honor. Before him Sachin Tendulkar (1997–98), Mahendra Singh Dhoni Dhoni (2007) and Virat Kohli (2018) have received this honor. 

Along with Rohit Sharma, the selection committee also recommended the names of Asian Games gold medalist wrestler Vinesh Phogat, table tennis champion Manika Batra and Paralympic gold medalist Mariyappan Thangavelu for the Khel Ratna. 

"The meeting is finally taking place on August 17 and 18," a Sports Ministry source told the news agency. At the same time, the decision on whether or not the ceremony will be held in Rashtrapati Bhavan on 29 August. But this year's award winners will be announced on time. It should be noted that this time more than 500 applications have come to the Sports Ministry for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna, Arjun, Dronacharya and Major Dhyanchand Awards.